Do vegan Tonkotsu noodles contain pork, and are therefore not halal for Muslims to eat?!
Take a look at the viral photo, and find out what the facts really are!
Claim : Vegan Tonkotsu Noodles Contain Pork!
A packet of vegan Tonkotsu noodles has gone viral, with people claiming that it contains pork, and is therefore not halal for Muslims to consume. It’s often accompanied by comments like:
Truth : Vegan Tonkotsu Noodles Do NOT Contain Pork!
The photo of the Tonkotsu noodles packet has gone viral, with Muslim netizens in Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailand deeply concerned about its halal status, so here is what you need to know…
Fact #1 : That Is A Packet Of Vegan Tonkotsu Instant Noodles
First, let me just point out that many netizens did not bother to look at the photo properly.
It is stated clearly on the packet that it contains Tonkotsu with pork bone broth flavour.
The small labels also point out that this packet is not only vegan, it has a gluten-free soup base.
Fact #2 : Vegan Tonkotsu Noodles Do Not Contain Meat
This packet of vegan Tonkotsu noodles does NOT contain meat. Certainly not pork.
In fact, vegan food products by definition do NOT contain any animal products. That means it won’t contain meat, eggs, dairy products, or any other animal-derived substances.
The soup is made to mimic the taste of pork bone broth, using yeast extracts and garlic powder amongst other things.
For example, here are the ingredients of the Nissin Tonkotsu Instant Noodles – a similar vegan tonkotsu ramen product :
As you can see – its ingredients are not only completely halal, they are also completely vegan.
Fact #3 : NAHA Halal Logo Was Used Without Permission
The packet of vegan Tonkotsu noodles also has a Nippon Asia Halal Association (NAHA) logo, which proclaims that it had been certified halal.
However, NAHA issued a statement on August 19, 2022 stating that it did not certify this noodle producer as Halal, and the brand did not receive their permission to use the NAHA Halal logo.
Fact #4 : Invalid NAHA Logo Does Not Mean It Is Not Halal
I have to point out that NAHA did not certify this company, so the use of their label is illegal, even if the product itself is halal.
That is a certification issue, and does not mean that the vegan noodles are not halal.
For example, if the noodle company paid NAHA to certify this particular Tonkotsu instant noodle product, it would receive a certificate and the right to use the halal logo for just 1 year.
If the brand does not continue to pay NAHA for the halal certification, it will lose the right to use its halal logo, even though the instant noodles have not changed one bit, and remain just as halal as it was before.
In other words – certification confirms that the product is halal, but the lack of certification or even the use of lapsed / false certification does not mean that the product is not halal.
NAHA, for example, offers halal certification for mineral water with a 2-year validity period. But does that mean that mineral water without the NAHA logo is not halal?
Of course, if you are in doubt about whether vegan noodles are truly halal, it’s best to check with the religious authorities in your country.
- Did The Queen’s Royal Guard Collapse From Vaccine?!
- Ukraine Bags Russia’s Latest T-90M Main Battle Tank!
- Did King Charles III Wear Coat Buttons Wrongly On Day 1?!
- Maybank Will Only Activate Secure2u On MAE App!
- How Ice-Cream Dry Ice Nearly Killed This Lady!
If you like our work, please support us by visiting our sponsors, or donating to our fund. Thank you!